Western Association of Gradaute Schools

2009 Annual Meeting Minutes

51st Annual Business Meeting
Hotel Encanto
Las Cruces, New Mexico
March 7, 2009

The meeting was called to order by President Linda Lacey.

The 2009 WAGS/UMI Distinguished Master’s Thesis Award was presented to Ms. Iris Liu, The University of British Columbia for her thesis entitled “Comparative Genome Hybridization Reveals Widespread Genome Variation in Pathogenic Cryptococcus Species”.
The 2009 WAGS/UMI Innovation in Technology Award was presented to Dr. Tapan Parikh, University of Washington for his dissertation entitled “Designing an Architecture for Delivering Mobile Information Services to the Rural Developing World”.

The minutes of the 50th Annual Meeting were approved as submitted.

Secretary/Treasurer Elizabeth Feetham provided the Treasurer’s report. The balance as of December 31, 2008 was $48,108.36.
President Linda Lacey presented the results of the election for membership on the Executive Committee and for the Secretary/Treasurer’s position.

President Elect:
Carl Fox, Vice Provost for Graduate Education, Montana State University
Member at Large:
Joseph N. Benoit, Dean of the Graduate School, University of North Dakota
Moheb Ghali, Vice Provost for Research and Dean of the Graduate School, Western Washington University
Ramona N. Mellott, Dean of the Graduate School, Northern Arizona University

Linda La Grange, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs, New Mexico Highlands University

President Elect, Margrit von Braun, announced that the 2010 WAGS annual meeting would be held in Coeur d’Alene, Idaho at the Coeur d’Alene Resort, March 26 – 28.

Dr. David Payne announced that ETS was sponsoring a new award entitled the “WAGS/ETS Award for Excellence and Innovation in Graduate Admissions”.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:30 pm.