Western Association of Gradaute Schools

2010 Annual Meeting Minutes

52nd Annual Business Meeting
The Coeur d’Alene Resort, Idaho
March 26, 2010

The meeting was called to order by President Margrit von Braun.

Mr. Christopher Cox (University of Alberta) was presented with the 2010 WAGS/UMI Distinguished Master’s Thesis Award by the ProQuest/UMI representative, Marlene Coles. Mr. Cox then gave a brief overview of his thesis, “Verbal Complementation in Mennonite Plautdietsch: A Constructional, Corpus-Based Approach”.

The 2010 WAGS/UMI Innovation in Technology Award was presented to Dr. April Kloxin (University of Colorado), who also delivered an overview of her dissertation, “Photolabile Hydrogels for Dynamic Tuning of Physical and Chemical Properties to Probe Cell-Cell and Cell Material Interactions”.

The minutes of the 51st Annual Meeting were approved as amended by Peter Dourhout.

The Treasurer’s report was presented by Linda La Grange. The balance in the WAGS account was $47,771.00

President von Braun announced the 2010 election results. Peter Dourhout (Colorado State University) was chosen to be the President-Elect and Fred Hall (University of Calgary) was chosen as our new Member-at-Large

The WAGS 2010-2011 President, Carl Fox, announced that two locations, San Diego and Tucson, were being considered for the 53rd Annual Meeting. He asked that WAGS members let him know which location they preferred.

David Payne announced the establishment of a 2010/2011 WAGS/ETS Award for Excellence and Innovation in Graduate Education.

The meeting was adjourned.