Western Association of Gradaute Schools

2012 Annual Meeting Minutes

54th Annual Business Meeting
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, CO
March 20, 2012

The meeting was called to order by President Peter K. Dorhout.
The first item on the agenda was the award ceremony.

The 2012 WAGS/UMI Distinguished Master’s Thesis Award was presented to Jaqueline Kiwata, California State Los Angeles.

“The Effect of Vigorous Exercise on the Content of Cholesteryl Linoleate, a Novel Antimicrobial Effector Molecule in Upper Respiratory Tract Excretions”

The 2012 WAGS/UMI Innovation in Technology Award was presented to Timothy Leonard, University of Calgary.

“Force Production in Lengthened Myofibrils and Single Sarcomeres”

The 2012 WAGS/ETS Excellence in Graduate Education Award was presented to the University of Oregon.

“ A partnership between the Graduate School and the Center on Diversity and Community (CoDaC) to enhance the inclusive excellence of a summer enrichment program to diversify STEM fields, known as SPUR”

The minutes of the 53rd Annual Meeting were reviewed and approved by a unanimous vote.

The Treasurer’s Report was presented by Linda La Grange. The current balance in the WAGS account is $27,838.05. The report was also unanimously approved.
Peter K. Dorhout announced the election results for the upcoming Executive Committee membership:

  • Rebecca Aanerud, the Associate Provost/Dean at the University of Washington was elected to a two-year (2012-2014), member-at-large position.
  • Elisa Mattison, the Director of the Graduate School at the University of Alaska, Anchorage was also elected to a two-year (2012-2014), member-at-large position.
  • David Wittrock, Dean of Graduate and interdisciplinary Studies at North Dakota State University was elected to the position of chair-elect.

Ramona, in her role as chair-elect, presented the outgoing President, Peter K. Dorhout, with a plaque in appreciation for his service as the 2011-2012 WAGS President.

A proposed change to the language in the bylaws was approved by a unanimous vote. The change is as follows:

Article III, Section I.c.1 will be changed from “non-degree granting institutions” to “non-degree granting organizations”.

At the October 2011 Executive Committee meeting it was decided that the WAGS dues would be increased from $150/year to $300/year. This information was conveyed to WAGS members attending the annual meeting.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.