Western Association of Gradaute Schools

2013 Annual Meeting Minutes


55th Annual Business Meeting

Loews Ventana Resort

Tucson, AZ

March 26, 2013


Call to Order: President Ramona Mellott

The 2013 WAGS/UMI Distinguished Master’s Thesis Award (STEM) was Chris Barnett, University of Alaska, Anchorage. Sarah Teets, University of Colorado, was presented with the 2013 WAGS Distinguished Master’s Thesis Award (non-STEM). Andrew Top, Simon Fraser University, was presented with the 2013 WAGS/UMI Innovation in Technology Award. Finally, the 2013 WAGS/ETS Excellence in Graduate Education Award was presented to Colorado State University.

The minutes of the 53rd Annual Meeting were approved as submitted.

Secretary-Treasurer, Linda La Grange, provided the treasure’s report. The totals were as follows:

  • $20,453.00 checking
  • $ 1,532.68 savings

Ramona Mellott announced the 2013 Executive Committee election results. The following is a list of the new members:

  • Chair Elect – Elisa Mattison, University of Alaska, Anchorage
  • Member-at-Large (2013 – 2015) – Jodie Hanzlik, Colorado State University
  • Member-at-Large (2013 – 2014) – Wayne Swisher, University of North Dakota
  • Member-at-Large (2013 – 2015) – Laura Bender, University of Alaska, Fairbanks

David Wittrock presented Ramona Mellott with a plaque and expressed our collective appreciation for all of the work she did as the president of WAGS. He then announced that the 56th Annual meeting would be held in Grand Forks, North Dakota on ???????

Ramona Mellott made a few final announcements before presenting Linda La Grange with a plaque and thanking her for the years she had served as the secretary/treasurer for WAGS.

The meeting was then adjourned.