2014 Annual Meeting Minutes

WAGS Annual Business Meeting

Fargo, ND

April 1, 2014

WAGS President, David Wittrock called the meeting to order.

The award for the WAGS/UMI Distinguished Master’s Thesis (STEM) was presented to Tetsuto Miyshita, University of Alberta. His thesis title was “Comparative Analysis of the Anatomy of the Myxinoidea and the Ancestry of Early Vertebrate Lineages”.

The award for the WAGS Distinguished Master’s Thesis (non-STEM) was presented to Hannah Harrison, University of Alaska Fairbanks. Her thesis title was “This is Who I Am: Perspectives on Economics, Policy and Personal Identity and Culture of Cook Inlet and Kenai River Salmon Fisheries”.

The award for the WAGS/UMI Innovation in Technology was presented to Lucas Ting, University of Washington. His dissertation title was “Flow Mechanotransduction Response in Endothelial Cell Monolayers and Platelets”.

The award for the WAGS/ETS Excellence in Graduate Education was presented to Christian Villasenor, University of California, Santa Barbara.

The minutes for the 55th annual meeting were approved unanimously.

The WAGS Secretary/Treasurer. Linda LaGrange, reported that WAGS had $42,975.91 in the checking account and $773.34 in the savings account.

David Wittrock announced the winners of the executive committee election. Donna White (university of Utah) and Wade Parkhouse (Simon Fraser University) were elected as members-at-large. Lorie Liebrock (New Mexico Tech) was elected president-elect.

In appreciation for his service as WAGS president, David Wittrock was presented with a plaque.

Elisa Mattison announced the location and dates of the 2015 annual meeting: Anchorage, Alaska; March 8 – 11, 2015.

The meeting was adjourned.